Skip to main content



"The Hopefuls" were a diverse Minneapolis-based musical collective centered around four members - Erik Appelwick, Eric Fawcett, John Hermanson, and Darren Jackson - of the band of the same name. Working together and apart they formed Alva StarKid DakotaSpymobStoryhillTropical DepressionVicious ViciousFort in the ForestThe HarvestersIntl FallsMonolux and Citrîne. Appelwick was also a member of mid-2000s indie darlings Tapes 'n Tapes.

(Click on the linked names above to learn more about each artist.)

Latest Posts

1994: Reno Meets Jay Krasnow

The Hopefuls: Two Years Later


A Book about The Hopefuls!

The Hopefuls: Chasing a Rock 'n' Roll Dream in the Minnesota Music Scene: Introduction

The Hopefuls

Alva Star

John Hermanson

Kid Dakota